h1

Daily Telegraph Cryptic 25846 – 7 Feb 09

February 6, 2009

Faithful followers of this website will know that I keep  saying I’m going to stop putting up solutions and hints – and then keep doing it. I don’t really know why that is. Mainly vanity, I guess. I love the idea that you would be bereft without my brain and my blog. And I guess there was some sense of self-imposed duty.

No longer. Because one greater than I has come.

He must increase.

And I must decrease.

Think of me as voice in the wilderness, calling for paths to be straightened for Big Dave, who cheerfully finishes the crossword day after day and puts up lots of helpful hints on my blog. Well, he’s got his own blog now so I pass the baton to him.

So for hints on today’s Prize Crossword – and all future Daily Telegraph Cryptic offerings, go to Big Dave’s Blog here.

 

You can still read Crossword Ends in Violence (5) here. And buy it here.

9 comments

  1. James – just found your excellent site, and you immediately give up. I mean, what’s the matter with walking round the house with baby sick on your shoulder puzzling over 6 down, I did it for years. And this big Dave bloke, finishes the crossword by 5am every day it seems – so why bother, where’s the fun in that. I much prefer your ‘the answer is xxx but I haven’t got a clue why’ routine. Funny.


  2. As a recent convert to this site, I am sorry to read that you’re taking a break, James, and sincerely hope that the two actions aren’t related. Long may your pen flash in the gloom like a light sabre… Incidentally, I have just finished today’s crossword and think that the answer to 11a is, in part, distinctly fishy. Best wishes, Caravaggio.


  3. Like my artistic friend, I too have finished today’s crossword over a cup of tea.

    8a dodgy massage from this girl?
    12a Phil Thompson
    24a sounds like a great bbq

    7d another Phil Thompson reference
    15d the daftest in-the-clue ever
    22d and just below a calf


  4. James! Don’t be such a defeatist. Let BD get on with his own site. Ask him nicely to stop taking over yours and then we’ll all be happy.


  5. Rob must be a Liverpool fan? Not too difficult today for a Prize offering. 26a made the wife chuckle anyway.


  6. I would like to make a few points:

    1. I too loved James’ blog and his style. and tried to persuade him not to give up. He asked me to take over, not the other way round.

    2. I couldn’t and wouldn’t, try to emulate his style, but I hope, in time, you will grow to like mine. I am open to suggestions, so let me know what you would like to see.

    3. Until I started my own blog, I had no idea how much of the day it occupies, so I can sympathise with James’ decision.

    4. I now do the crosswords at midnight. Before I used to do them at my leisure, particularly at the weekend. As James has said above, it’s part vanity and part self-imposed duty.

    5. I hope you will give me a chance before deciding whether or not to use my blog. There are other forums where you can ask for specific answers. AnswerBank in particular is supported my many addicts, but it tends to lack colour (apart from some of my contributions, of course!!)


  7. Amen to what Big Dave said! This is not a hostile takeover, but a warm baton-passing moment. I’m really excited that I’ve had any part in building this little DT community. Let’s keep it going over at Dave’s!

    james


  8. Hey I’ve only just found this site and it’s been really helpful. So thanks James, will be moving onto Dave, but only as a last resort when I’ve spent the whole of Saturday with my brain pondering on some random clue. Enjoy that baby, the best thing you’ll ever do….


  9. Hey I’ve only just found this site and it’s been really helpful. So thanks James, will be moving onto Dave, but only as a last resort when I’ve spent the whole of Saturday with my brain pondering on some random clue. Enjoy that baby, the best thing you’ll ever do….

    seconded….don’t leave us now. I’ve just become addicted



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

